希望的故事

Steven DePriest,捐赠者

史蒂夫喜欢打猎、钓鱼和研究历史,作为一名志愿消防员,他非常关心社区。当他登记成为器官、眼球和组织捐献者时,他为他人服务的奉献精神也体现得淋漓尽致。

史蒂夫突然去世后,他决定成为一名捐赠者,将生命的礼物送给其他需要的人。他的家人得知,邻州的一名妇女接受了他的一个肾脏,另一名妇女接受了他的眼角膜,还有一些组织被回收,可能有助于挽救其他等待移植者的生命。对史蒂夫的家人来说,他登记成为捐赠者的无私行为意味着,他将通过他挽救的受者的生命继续活下去。

最珍贵的礼物

对于史蒂夫的女儿艾莉森来说,知道史蒂夫的天赋给了他人第二次生命的机会,这让她在痛失史蒂夫的同时感到欣慰。

"对我来说,这意味着他的生命在别人身上延续。他的无私捐赠行为给了他们延续生命的机会。受捐者可以多活一天,与家人团聚,也有人可以再次进行 SEE!虽然他的生命是突然而悲惨地结束了,但知道他的生命礼物后,许多人在悲伤的日子里得到了极大的安慰。在你离开后,做一个能让别人重获生命的人。这是最珍贵的礼物,生命的礼物。在经历了如此悲惨的损失之后,分享他的故事给我们带来了极大的安慰和平静"。

Stories of Hope

Steven DePriest, donor

Steve loved hunting, fishing, and studying history, and, as a volunteer firefighter, he cared deeply about his community. His dedication to serving others was also evident when he registered as an organ, eye and tissue donor.

After his sudden passing, Steve’s decision to be a donor gave the gift of life to others in need. His family learned that a woman in a neighboring state received one of his kidneys, another received his corneas, and there were tissues recovered that may help save the life of someone else waiting for a transplant. To Steve’s family, his selfless act of registering to be a donor means that he is living on through the recipients’ lives he saved.

The Most Precious Gift

For Steve’s daughter, Allison, knowing that his gift has given others a second chance at life brought her comfort while grieving his loss.

“It has meant to me that his life is living on in someone else. He gave them the chance to live on with his selfless act of donation. The recipients can live another day to be with their family, and someone can SEE again! Though his life ended suddenly and tragically, knowing his gift of life has provided so much comfort through so many days of grief. Be that person to give life back to someone after you’re gone. It’s the most precious gift, the gift of life. It brings such comfort and peace to share his story after such a tragic loss.”