希望的故事

Sejal,肾脏和胰腺受体

当 Sejal 从医学院毕业并准备进入住院医生实习时,她突然发现自己需要进行肾移植手术来挽救生命。

Sejal 10 岁时被诊断出患有 1 型糖尿病,她学会了通过监控食物摄入量和胰岛素水平来控制病情,并使用胰岛素泵来帮助自己。完成医学院学业后,Sejal 搬回了亚利桑那州的家,并计划在那里继续她的职业生涯。搬家后不久,Sejal 开始感到头晕和乏力,于是预约医生进行检查。初步检查发现她的血细胞计数偏低,而且 Sejal 的肾功能也有所下降。Sejal 立即接受了肾活检,并被诊断为肾衰竭第五期。她康复的唯一希望就是肾移植。

塞加尔的第一次 "第二次机会"

塞加尔被送往亚利桑那州的梅奥诊所,并被列入多器官移植名单,接受肾脏和胰腺移植,以治愈她的 1 型糖尿病。在等待移植的名单上等待了 9 个月后,由于一位捐赠者的慷慨解囊,塞加尔接受了肾脏和胰腺移植手术,挽救了她的生命。

移植后,Sejal 的生活发生了翻天覆地的变化。她可以吃以前因糖尿病而不能吃的食物,穿的衣服也不再受限制,不用担心胰岛素泵。Sejal 还可以自由地锻炼身体,而不必担心血糖问题,她以前感到的头晕和虚弱也完全消失了。她可以继续她的医疗事业,看着侄女和侄子出生长大。Sejal 感觉自己焕然一新。

另一份无私的礼物

2018 年,Sejal 的肾脏数据开始发生变化,医生建议她准备再次接受肾脏移植手术。随着时间的推移,她服用的排异药物在肾脏中造成了不可逆转的疤痕,导致肾功能下降。Sejal 开始准备在等待移植期间在家进行透析,这样她就可以在白天工作的同时照顾自己的健康。不幸的是,Sejal 意外感染了山谷热,损害了仅存的肾功能。为了挽救生命,Sejal 开始在医院进行紧急透析,并持续透析了大约 10 个月。

2021 年 11 月,Sejal 接到了肾脏可用的电话,此时距离她第一次接受移植手术 12 周年纪念日只差一天。

"她说:"我每天都在想,我之所以能活着,是因为我的捐献者。"他们让我来到这里,给了我第二次和第三次生命的机会"。

第二次移植手术后,Sejal 继续她的医学生涯,专注于移植医学。她热衷于帮助移植患者活得更长、更健康,并将自己的职业生涯视为接受救命礼物后回馈社会的机会。捐献者的无私馈赠改变了 Sejal 的世界观,她知道永远不要把任何事情视为理所当然,要让他们的遗产通过她延续下去。

Stories of Hope

Sejal, kidney and pancreas recipient

When Sejal graduated from medical school and was preparing to enter residency, she suddenly found herself in need of a lifesaving kidney transplant.

After being diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes at 10 years old, Sejal learned to manage her disease by monitoring her food intake and insulin levels and used an insulin pump to help. After finishing medical school, Sejal moved back home to Arizona, where she planned to continue her career. Shortly after moving, Sejal began feeling dizzy and weak and made an appointment with her doctor to check it out. Some preliminary testing revealed her blood count was low, and Sejal’s kidney function had declined. Sejal immediately underwent a kidney biopsy and was diagnosed with stage 5 kidney failure. Her only hope for recovery was a kidney transplant.

Sejal’s First “Second Chance”

Sejal was sent to the Mayo Clinic in Arizona and listed for a multi-organ transplant to receive a kidney and a pancreas, which would cure her Type 1 Diabetes. After 9 months on the transplant waiting list, Sejal received a lifesaving kidney-pancreas transplant thanks to the generosity of a donor.

After her transplants, Sejal’s life was dramatically different. She was also able to enjoy food she hadn’t been able to eat before due to her diabetes and was less limited in the clothing she could wear without an insulin pump to worry about. Sejal also had the freedom to work out without worrying about her blood sugar, and the dizziness and weakness she’d felt were completely gone. She was able to continue her medical career, and see her niece and nephew born and grow up. Sejal felt like a new person.

Another Selfless Gift

In 2018, Sejal’s kidney numbers began to change, and her physician recommended she prepare for another kidney transplant. Over time, her rejection medication had caused irreversible scarring in her kidney, which resulted in a decline in kidney function. Sejal began preparing to start dialysis at home while she waited for a transplant so she could work during the day and take care of her health. Unfortunately, Sejal unexpectedly became infected with valley fever, which damaged any remaining kidney function. In order to save her life, Sejal began emergency dialysis in the hospital and remained on dialysis for about 10 months.

In November 2021, Sejal got the call that a kidney was available, one day short of the twelve-year anniversary of her first transplant.

“I think about how every day, I am alive, and I am here because of my donors,” she says. “They allowed me to be here and gave me a second and third chance at life.”

After her second transplant, Sejal continued her medical career with a focus in transplant medicine. She is passionate about helping transplant patients live longer and healthier lives and views her career as an opportunity to give back after receiving her own lifesaving gifts. The selfless gift of her donors changed Sejal’s worldview, and she knows never to take anything for granted and to allow their legacy to live on through her.