希望的故事

肖恩,活体肾脏捐献受者

肖恩生性好动,喜欢长跑、游泳和徒步旅行,还曾作为全职音乐家在东海岸演出。2000 年,肖恩被诊断出患有溃疡性结肠炎(一种大肠疾病),随后又被诊断出患有原发性硬化性胆管炎(一种影响胆管的肝病)。

两种危及生命的疾病

2021 年夏天,肖恩因腹部剧烈疼痛入院,他活跃的生活方式因此戛然而止。在那里,医生证实肖恩出现了肝功能衰竭。不幸的是,他的诊断因发现胆管癌而变得复杂。如果不进行移植,肖恩将无法存活。

活着的捐赠者就是活着的英雄

2022 年 6 月,肖恩从他现实生活中的英雄和活体捐献者安东尼那里获得了一个肝脏。安东尼与妻子和两个孩子住在加利福尼亚州,尽管住在美国的另一端,安东尼还是来到纽约,将自己68%的肝脏*捐献给肖恩,这份礼物将挽救他的生命。手术后,安东尼在医院住了大约一个月,以便医院监测他的健康状况。

在整个移植过程中,肖恩的朋友和家人从未动摇过对他的支持,他们激励和鼓励他保持坚强,无论前路如何,都要继续奋斗。他的乐队的歌迷们也一路给予他支持。不过,他最大的支持者之一是他的活体捐献者。

"安东尼捐献器官的礼物不仅给了我生命的礼物,让我回到了家人和爱人身边,而且他还帮助我重新确定了人生目标,我将为此永远心怀感激"。

新的人生观

肖恩现在有了新的人生观;他更多地参与到家人的生活中,并辞去了以前的工作,全心投入音乐事业。在战胜癌症并接受肝脏移植手术后的 10 个月内,肖恩重新回到了音乐工作室,并在东海岸的许多地方进行演出。每天,他都对自己的第二次生命机会心存感激,现在,他还为其他面临癌症治疗或等待救命移植手术的人进行宣传和指导。

Stories of Hope

Sean, living kidney donor recipient

Sean was an active person who liked to spend time long-distance running, swimming, and hiking and also performed full-time as a musician along the East Coast. In 2000, Sean was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis, a disease of the large intestines, and as a result, was later diagnosed with Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis, a type of liver disease that affects the bile ducts.

Two Life Threatening Illnesses

Sean’s active lifestyle was brought to a halt in the summer of 2021 when he was admitted to the hospital due to severe abdominal pain. There, the doctors confirmed that Sean was experiencing liver failure. Unfortunately, his diagnosis was complicated by the discovery of bile duct cancer. Without a transplant, Sean would not survive.

Living Donors are Living Heroes

In June 2022, Sean received a liver from his real-life hero and living donor, Anthony. Anthony lived in California with his wife and two children, and despite living on the opposite side of the country, Anthony traveled to New York to donate 68% of his liver* to Sean, a gift that would save his life. Anthony stayed for about a month after surgery so the hospital could monitor his health.

Throughout his transplant journey, Sean’s friends and family never wavered in their support, motivating and encouraging him to stay strong and keep fighting through whatever was ahead. He also had fans of his band giving him support along the way. One of his biggest supporters, however, was his living donor.

“Anthony’s gift of organ donation not only gave me the gift of life and brought me back to my family and loved ones, but he also contributed to re-defining my purpose in life, and I will be forever grateful for that.”

New Outlook on Life

Sean now has a new outlook on life; he’s more present in his family’s lives and left his former job to focus on his music career full-time. Within 10 months of beating cancer and receiving his liver transplant, Sean was back in the music studio and performing in venues along the East Coast. Every day, he is grateful for his second chance at life and now advocates for and mentors others facing cancer treatment or waiting for a lifesaving transplant.