希望的故事

捐赠者迈克和受捐者及捐赠者家庭成员莫琳

改变人生的礼物

莫琳在 29 岁时被诊断出患有肾病,需要进行肾移植手术来挽救生命。2009 年 11 月 24 日,莫琳从活体捐献者金姆那里获得了一个新肾脏。

在经历了肾病和接受移植手术之后,莫琳知道自己想要重返校园,并将毕生精力投入到帮助肾病患者的事业中。她进入护士学校学习,后来成为一名透析护士。在过去的十年中,莫琳一直在透析领域工作,作为一个了解病人经历的人,她为病人带来了独特的视角。

移植手术 7 年后,莫琳和丈夫有了一个女儿,但由于莫琳的疾病,他们不确定自己是否能够做到这一点。莫琳知道,如果没有金的慷慨解囊,这一切都不可能实现:"如果没有一个人的无私帮助,我就不会有今天的生活。我现在能够帮助和影响与我处境相同的其他人。我想我永远也无法真正解释我的感激之情"。

继续慷慨解囊

莫琳的移植之旅影响了她的整个家庭,尤其是她的父亲迈克。他被金成为活体捐献者的利他行为所感动。迈克被称为聚会的主角,他是一个魅力十足、雄心勃勃、干劲十足的人。他非常关心自己的朋友和家人,在女儿接受移植手术后,他也非常希望自己能成为一名捐献者。

2017 年,迈克意外去世,他的家人被问及是否同意迈克成为角膜和组织捐献者。莫琳和她的家人知道,迈克非常感激移植手术挽救了莫琳的生命,他们相信迈克会愿意成为一名捐献者。迈克的家人同意了,就在莫琳八年前接受捐肾的那一天,即 11 月 24 日,迈克成为了一名眼角膜和组织捐献者。

"迈克的家人说:"生命的礼物是终极礼物。"因为我们的家庭很幸运,有人为莫琳捐献了肾脏,所以我们知道我们的父亲会希望通过捐献自己的眼睛和组织来回报这份礼物"。

器官、眼球和组织捐献者不仅能拯救生命,还能激励他人登记自己的决定,将生命和治愈的礼物送给他人。今天就在RegisterMe.org上登记您的决定,并与您的亲朋好友分享您的愿望,帮助激励其他人也这样做。

Stories of Hope

Mike, donor, and Maureen, recipient and donor family member

A Life-changing Gift

Maureen was 29 years old when she was diagnosed with kidney disease and found herself in need of a lifesaving transplant. On November 24, 2009, Maureen received the gift of a new kidney from a living donor, Kim.

After her experience with kidney disease and receiving her transplant, Maureen knew she wanted to go back to school and dedicate her life to helping kidney patients. She entered nursing school and later became a dialysis nurse. For the past decade, Maureen has worked in the dialysis field, bringing a unique perspective to her patients as someone who understood what they were going through.

Seven years after her transplant, Maureen and her husband had a daughter, something they were unsure they would be able to do because of her disease. Maureen knows that without Kim’s incredible generosity, it would not have been possible: “I would not be here today, in this life I have created, without the selfless act of one person. I am now able to help and impact others who are in the same position I was in. I don’t think I can ever truly explain how grateful I am.”

Generosity Continued

Maureen’s transplant journey impacted her whole family, especially her father, Mike. He was moved by Kim’s altruistic act of becoming a living donor. Known as the life of the party, Mike was a charismatic, ambitious, and driven individual. He cared deeply about his friends and family, and after his daughter’s transplant, cared deeply about becoming a donor himself.

In 2017, Mike unexpectedly passed away, and his family was asked if they would say yes to Mike being a cornea and tissue donor. Maureen and her family knew how grateful he was for the transplant that saved Maureen’s life, and they were confident that he would want to be a donor. Mike’s family said yes, and on the exact day, November 24, that Maureen received her donor kidney eight years prior, Mike became an eye and tissue donor.

“The gift of life is the ultimate gift to give,” Mike’s family says. “Because our family was blessed to have someone donate a kidney to Maureen, we knew our dad would want to repay the gift through his donation of his eyes and tissue.”

Organ, eye and tissue donors don’t only save lives, they inspire others to register their decision and give the gift of life and healing to someone else. Register your decision today at RegisterMe.org, and share your wishes with your friends and family to help inspire someone else to do the same.