希望的故事

伦敦,肝脏受体

罕见疾病

2021 年 2 月,当伦敦出生时,她的父母把她带回家,与家人一起庆祝她的到来。两天后,他们接到了医院打来的改变命运的电话。伦敦被检测出患有一种罕见的代谢性疾病,即枫糖浆病(MSUD)。伦敦的诊断结果意味着她的身体无法分解食物中的某些氨基酸*。血液中高浓度的这些氨基酸具有毒性,如果不及时发现,可能会导致脑损伤、神经紊乱和死亡。为了生存下去,伦敦有两个选择,一是采取严格限制饮食的方法,并经常进行检测,非常谨慎;二是进行肝脏移植。

确诊后,伦敦经常住在医院里。她的父母将他们一家与其他人隔离开来,以避免接触疾病。由于她的疾病,伦敦必须遵循特殊的饮食习惯,并需要插管喂食。如果不进行肝脏移植,伦敦显然无法像其他同龄儿童一样生活,也无法与他们交流。

 

最好的生日礼物

2022 年 2 月 15 日,在伦敦一岁生日的前三天,一位捐赠者慷慨解囊,挽救了伦敦的生命。

自从接受移植手术后,伦敦的生活发生了翻天覆地的变化。她可以吃所有类型的食物,她的家人也能更自由地享受户外活动。现在,伦敦喜欢和其他孩子一起在公园玩耍,每周参加艺术课程。她还计划开始踢足球。

"伦敦的家人说:"伦敦的捐献者及其家人的无私选择对我们来说意义重大。"这让伦敦有机会过上正常、健康的生活,而不会因为她的疾病而面临威胁生命的风险"。

 

 

 

*氨基酸是结合成蛋白质的分子。人体利用氨基酸制造蛋白质,以帮助人体:分解食物;生长;修复身体组织;以及执行许多其他身体功能。 Medlineplus.gov,2023 年 3 月 30 日访问。

Stories of Hope

London, liver recipient

Rare Disease

When London was born in February 2021, her parents brought her home to celebrate her arrival with their family. Two days later, they got a life-changing call from the hospital. London had tested positive for a rare metabolic disease known as MSUD, or Maple Syrup Disease. Affecting only one in approximately 185,000 births, London’s diagnosis meant her body was unable to break down certain amino acids* in food. High levels of these amino acids in the blood are toxic and if not caught, could result in brain damage, neurological disorders, and death. To survive, London’s two options were to adopt a severely restricted diet with frequent testing and lots of caution or have a liver transplant.

After her diagnosis, London was often in the hospital. Her parents kept the family isolated from others to avoid exposure to sickness. Because of her disease, London had to follow a special diet and required tube feeding. Without a liver transplant, it was clear London would be unable to live like or interact with other children her age.

 

The Best Birthday Present Ever

On February 15th, 2022, three days before London’s first birthday, London’s life was saved by the generosity of a donor.

Since her transplant, London’s life has changed for the better. She can eat all types of food and her family feels more free to enjoy activities out of the house. Now, London loves to play with other kids at the park and attend weekly art classes. She also has big plans to start playing soccer.

“London’s donor and their family’s selfless choice means the world to us,” her family says. “It gave London the opportunity to live a normal, healthy life without the life-threatening risks that come with her disease.”

 

 

 

*Amino acids are molecules that combine to form proteins. The human body uses amino acids to make proteins to help the body: break down food; grow; repair body tissue; and perform many other body functions. Medlineplus.gov, accessed March 30, 2023.