希望的故事

查兹利,活体肾脏捐赠受体

查兹利-威廉姆斯(Chazley Williams)当时 30 岁,新婚燕尔,正在攻读硕士学位,她被列入肾移植等待名单。

2015 年,查兹莉被诊断出患有慢性肾病二期。随着病情的发展和糖尿病导致的住院治疗,查兹莉于 2019 年接受了紧急肾透析,随后开始在家进行腹膜透析1。她的家成了她的医疗机构,查兹莉必须每周 7 天、每晚 8 小时接上机器。她的丈夫和一位朋友接受了培训,帮助她进行透析,但最终她还是需要通过移植才能存活。

拯救生命的礼物

查兹利在一次网络课堂上公开自己的健康问题后,她的教授决定成为她的活体捐献者。2020 年 11 月,在她被列入全国移植候选名单一年后,查兹莉的教授为她捐献了一个新肾脏,挽救了她的生命。

由于她的教授决定成为活体捐赠者,Chazley 得以完成硕士学位,现在她不再每天依赖透析,她和丈夫可以自由地旅行了。

"登记成为捐献者是一个奇迹,它不仅能拯救他人的生命,还能通过祝福他人而改变自己的生命!"查兹利说。查兹利说。

如今,查兹利和她的丈夫是器官捐献的主要倡导者。目前,她正在与他人合作撰写一本针对与慢性病和自身免疫性疾病作斗争的妇女的指导手册,并致力于教育他人,提高人们对器官捐献的认识。查兹莉认为自己的移植手术是一种幸运,并感谢她的教授决定成为一名活体捐赠者,这一决定挽救了她的生命。

1 腹膜透析是通过腹部的管道进行血液过滤,以帮助肾脏发挥功能(透析)。

Stories of Hope

Chazley, living kidney donor recipient

Chazley Williams was 30 years old, newly wed and working on her master’s degree when she was added to the transplant waiting list for a kidney transplant.

In 2015, Chazley was diagnosed with stage 2 Chronic Kidney Disease. As her condition progressed and an issue with her diabetes resulted in hospitalization, Chazley was put on emergency kidney dialysis in 2019, and later began at home peritoneal dialysis1. Her home became her medical facility, and Chazley had to be hooked up to a machine 8 hours a night for 7 days a week. Her husband and a friend got trained to help with her dialysis, but ultimately she would need a transplant to survive.

A Lifesaving Gift

After Chazley opened up about her health issues in one of her online classes, her professor made the decision to become a living donor. In November 2020, one year after she was added to the national transplant waiting list, Chazley’s professor gave her the lifesaving gift of a new kidney.

Because of her professor’s decision to be a living donor, Chazley was able to finish her master’s degree, and she and her husband have the freedom to travel now that she no longer relies on dialysis every day.

“Registering as a donor is a miracle that not only saves someone else’s life but can change yours by blessing someone too!” Chazley says.

Today, Chazley and her husband are major advocates for organ donation. She is currently working on co-authoring a guidebook for women fighting chronic illness and autoimmune disease and works to educate others and raise awareness about organ donation. Chazley recognizes her transplant as a blessing and is grateful for her professor’s decision to be a living donor, a decision that saved her life.

1 Peritoneal Dialysis is blood filtration to help the kidney functions (dialysis) that is done through a tube in the abdomen.