摄影比赛

安德鲁-戴维斯

图片说明

我和妻子在宾夕法尼亚州荷马城附近的 Hoodlebug 小道上进行了春季的第一次骑行。 我们准备在今年夏天进行一次大型自行车旅行。

我的故事

2020 年深秋,我和妻子完成了一次骑车旅行,回想我们骑车旅行的年头不多了,我们决定骑车横穿美国。我们要把这次骑行当作是对养育三个健康快乐的孩子的庆祝。 2021 年 2 月 27 日,就在我们准备踏上旅程的三个月前,我突发心力衰竭。 病情稳定后,我开始了心力衰竭的生活。 为了走路和做日常家务,我每天都在挣扎。 2021 年 11 月初,医生将我列入移植名单。 哈迪医生告诫我,仅仅被列入名单并不能保证一定能进行心脏移植。 11 月底,哈迪医生告诉我,我需要住院治疗,因为我的病情急剧恶化。 当时,我在主动脉中植入了一个泵,并被告知我有望在两周内接受新的心脏。 入院 11 天后,我被告知我的新心脏正在从田纳西州运来的途中。 我对手术感到恐惧,但我明白移植是我唯一的选择。 经过几天的镇静治疗,我开始意识到自己还活着! 看到我美丽的妻子和可爱的孩子们,我的激动之情难以言表。 我于 2021 年 12 月 24 日回到家中。 平安夜

在这里我就不多说了。 最初的六个月颇具挑战性。 我的肠子疼。 我很难做很多工作。 我的眼睛几乎睁不开几个小时。 但我还活着! 我从未错过每天的锻炼。 无论感觉如何,我都坚持锻炼。 慢慢地,我变得越来越强壮。 我开始骑电动自行车,但六个月后就卖掉了,因为我不再需要它了。 今天,我计划和妻子骑自行车穿越丹麦、德国以及法国、瑞士、斯洛伐克和匈牙利的部分地区。 我们在大女儿结婚两天后出发!

这听起来可能有些陈词滥调,但我没有一天不为自己还活着并与家人在一起而感叹。 每一天,我都在感谢我的捐献者和捐献者的家人所做出的牺牲。 我热爱自己的生命,并将此行献给生命捐献和器官捐献。 感谢你们所做的一切。

真诚的
安迪-戴维斯

类别

Photo Contest

Andrew Davis

Photo Description

My wife and I took one of our first rides of the spring on the Hoodlebug Trail near Homer City, PA. We are preparing to do a big bicycle tour this summer.

My Story

Late in the fall of 2020, my wife and I finished a bike ride and, reflecting on how very few years we would have to ride our bikes, decided that we should ride our bikes across the United States. We would make it a celebration of raising three healthy and happy children. On February 27 of 2021 I went into heart failure, just three months before we were set to leave on our big trip. After being stabilized, I was living a life with heart failure. I struggled every day in order to walk and do daily chores. In early November of 2021, my doctor placed me on the transplant list. Dr. Hadi cautioned me that just being on the list does not guarantee a heart transplant. Toward the end of November, Dr. Hadi told me that I needed to come into the hospital because my condition was deteriorating so rapidly. At that time I had a pump placed in my aorta and was told that I could expect to receive a new heart within two weeks. Eleven days after I entered the hospital, I was told that my new heart was on its way from Tennessee. I was terrified about the operation but understood that a transplant was my only choice. After a few days of sedation, I became away of the fact that I was ALIVE! The sight of my beautiful wife and wonderful children was too amazing to put into words. I returned home on December 24, 2021. Christmas Eve.

I won’t mince words here. The first six months were quite challenging. My guts hurt. I struggled to do much work. I could barely keep my eyes open for more than a few hours. BUT I WAS ALIVE! I never missed my daily exercise sessions. No matter how I felt, I did my exercise. Slowly, I became stronger and stronger. I started riding an electric bike but sold it six months later because I no longer needed it. Today I am planning to ride bicycles with my wife through Denmark, Germany and parts of France, Switzerland, Slovakia and Hungary. We leave two days after my oldest daughter gets married!

It may sound cliche but not a day passes that I don’t marvel at the fact that I am alive and with my family. Every single day I am grateful for the sacrifice of my donor and my donor’s family. I love being alive and am dedicating this trip to Donate Life and organ donation. Thank you for all that you do.

Sincerely,
ANDY DAVIS

Category