常见问题

为您解答有关器官、眼球和组织捐献的问题。

任何年龄和病史的人都应考虑自己可能成为捐献者。您去世时的身体状况将决定哪些器官和组织可以捐献。

一个全国性的系统会根据血型、体型、病情、捐献者的距离、组织类型和在名单上的时间,将捐献者的可用器官与等待名单上的人进行匹配。性取向、性别、性别认同或表达、种族、收入、名人和社会地位从不在考虑之列。

可以成功移植的器官和组织不断增加。作为已故器官、眼球和组织捐献者,您拯救和治愈生命的能力也在不断增强。一位捐献者可以挽救多达八条生命,通过眼角膜捐献让两个人重见光明,通过组织捐献治愈超过 75 条生命。以下是可以捐赠的器官

器官 

组织

已故捐献者登记不包括活体捐献和VCA(手和脸)捐献。

死者器官捐献是指在捐献者死亡时,将器官或器官的一部分捐献给他人,以便移植给他人。只有在用尽一切办法挽救病人生命、进行测试确认病人没有大脑或脑干活动并宣布脑死亡之后,才有可能进行捐赠。 

通过安全的在线方式搜索州捐献者登记处和国家捐献生命登记处,以确定患者是否已授权捐献。如果在登记册中找不到潜在的捐献者,他们的近亲或法律授权代表将有机会授权捐献。捐献和移植专业人员遵循国家政策,确定哪些器官可以移植,以及将器官分配给国家移植等待名单上的哪些患者。了解更多有关死者捐献程序的信息。

所有主要宗教都支持捐献,将其视为最后的慈悲和慷慨之举。请访问本页,了解有关器官、眼球和组织捐献的宗教观点的更多详细信息。
种族、民族、性取向、性别或性别表达方式、收入、名人和社会地位从来都不是器官和组织捐献者进行移植配对的考虑因素。请访问本页,了解有关种族、民族与器官、眼球和组织捐献的更多详细信息。

捐赠者的家庭或遗产无需支付任何费用。捐献者家庭只需支付生前的医疗费用和葬礼安排的相关费用。

您可以选择葬礼安排,包括瞻仰。在整个捐献过程中,遗体都会得到精心照料和尊重。捐献后,葬礼安排可按计划继续进行。

你的生命永远是第一位的。医生努力挽救每一位患者的生命,但有时患者会完全丧失大脑功能,且不可逆转。病人在临床和法律上被宣布死亡。只有在这种情况下,才可以选择捐献。

一个人的性取向、性别、性别认同或表达方式并不妨碍他们成为器官捐献者(已故者或在世者)。我们鼓励每个人在 RegisterMe.org 上登记自己是否决定成为器官捐献者。美国食品和药物管理局 (FDA) 的某些规定可能会影响个人的眼球和组织捐献资格。请访问我们的 LGBTQIA+ 常见问题页面了解更多信息。

2015 年通过的《艾滋病器官政策公平法案》(HOPE)为艾滋病病毒感染者提供了捐赠和移植机会。截至 2020 年 12 月,由于《HOPE 法案》以及捐赠者和捐赠者家庭的慷慨解囊,已有 430 多例挽救生命的移植手术成为可能。

一个全国性的系统会根据血型、体型、病情、捐献者的距离、组织类型和在名单上的时间,将捐献者的可用器官与等待名单上的人进行匹配。种族、收入、性别、名人和社会地位从来不在考虑之列。

尽管来自不同种族或族裔群体的个人之间可以成功进行捐赠和移植,但如果器官在相同种族或族裔背景的人之间匹配,移植的成功率往往更高。

非裔美国人/黑人、亚裔/太平洋岛民、西班牙裔/拉美裔、美国印第安人/阿拉斯加原住民和多种族后裔目前占全国器官移植等待者名单的近 58%。这些社区非常需要更多的器官和组织捐献者。

并非所有捐献的器官、眼睛和组织都能用于移植。如果捐献者(或家属,如果没有捐献者登记)授权,不能用于移植的捐献器官、眼睛和组织可用于医学研究和教育。不可移植的器官、眼睛和组织可以帮助研究人员找到治疗疾病的新方法,从而拯救和治愈生命。

活体器官捐献为一些移植候选者提供了另一种选择,缩短了他们在等待名单上的时间,并为受者带来更好的长期疗效。活体组织捐献、胎儿组织可用于促进愈合、治疗烧伤和疼痛伤口。了解有关活体捐献的更多信息。

Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to your questions about organ, eye and tissue donation.

People of all ages and medical histories should consider themselves potential donors. Your medical condition at the time of death will determine what organs and tissues can be donated.

A national system matches available organs from the donor with people on the waiting list based on blood type, body size, how sick they are, donor distance, tissue type and time on the list. Sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, race, income, celebrity and social status are never considered.

The list of organs and tissues that can be successfully transplanted continues to grow. So does your ability to save and heal lives as a deceased organ, eye and tissue donor. One donor can save up to eight lives, restore sight to two people through cornea donation, and heal more than 75 lives through tissue donation. Here’s what can be donated:

Organs 

Tissues

Living donation and VCA (hands and face) donation are not included in your deceased donor registration.

Deceased organ donation is the process of giving an organ or a part of an organ, at the time of the donor’s death, for the purpose of transplantation to another person. Only after all efforts to save the patient’s life have been exhausted, tests have been performed to confirm the absence of brain or brainstem activity, and brain death has been declared, is donation a possibility. 

The state donor registry and National Donate Life Registry are searched securely online to determine if the patient has authorized donation. If the potential donor is not found in a registry, their next of kin or legally authorized representative is offered the opportunity to authorize the donation. Donation and transplantation professionals follow national policy to determine which organs can be transplanted and to which patients on the national transplant waiting list the organs are to be allocated. Read more about the deceased donation process.

All major religions support donation as a final act of compassion and generosity. Visit this page for more in-depth information on religious views on organ, eye and tissue donation.
Race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender or gender expression, income, celebrity and social status are never part of the consideration when it comes to matching donor organs and tissues for transplantation. Visit this page for more in-depth information on race, ethnicity and organ, eye and tissue donation.

There is no cost to the donor’s family or estate for donation. The donor family pays only for medical expenses before death and costs associated with funeral arrangements.

Funeral arrangements of your choice are possible, including a viewing. Through the entire donation process the body is treated with care and respect. Following donation, funeral arrangements can continue as planned.

Your life always comes first. Doctors work hard to save every patient’s life, but sometimes there is a complete and irreversible loss of brain function. The patient is declared clinically and legally dead. Only then is donation an option.

A person’s sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression does not prevent them from becoming an organ donor (deceased or living). Everyone is encouraged to register their decision to be an organ donor at RegisterMe.org. Certain regulations mandated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) may affect a person’s eligibility for eye and tissue donation. Find out more information on our LGBTQIA+ FAQ page.

Passed in 2015, the HIV Organ Policy Equity Act (HOPE) Act provides donation and transplantation opportunities for people living with HIV. As of December 2020, more than 430 lifesaving transplants have been made possible because of the HOPE Act and the generosity of donors and donor families.

No. A national system matches available organs from the donor with people on the waiting list based on blood type, body size, how sick they are, donor distance, tissue type and time on the list. Race, income, gender, celebrity and social status are never considered.

Although donation and transplantation can take place successfully between individuals from different racial or ethnic groups, transplant success is often better when organs are matched between people of the same racial or ethnic background.

People of African American/Black, Asian/Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Latino, American Indian/Alaska Native and multiracial descent currently make up nearly 58% of individuals on the national organ transplant waiting list. These communities are in great need of more organ and tissue donors.

Not all donated organs, eyes, and tissues are able to be used for transplant. Donated organs, eyes and tissues that are not recovered for transplant may be used for medical research and education if the donor (or family, if there is not a donor registration) authorizes it. Non-transplantable organs, eyes and tissues help save and heal lives by allowing researchers to find new ways to treat disease.

Living organ donation offers another choice for some transplant candidates, reducing their time on the waiting list and leading to better long term outcomes for the recipient. Living tissue donation, birth tissue, is used to promote healing and to treat burns and painful wounds. Learn more about living donation.