死者捐赠

死者捐献是在捐献者死亡时为移植目的而捐献器官、角膜或组织的过程。只有在不属于捐赠和移植过程的医疗专业人员宣布死亡后,才能进行死者捐赠。

遗体捐献程序如何运作?

等待移植

当某人的器官出现故障时,他们可能会被评估是否需要移植,并被列入全国等待移植者名单。

等待捐献者的名单非常长,不是每个人都能在等待期间存活下来。

需要所有年龄段的捐赠者。

在美国,买卖用于移植的器官和组织是非法的。

成为捐赠者

人死后,要么是脑死亡,要么是心死亡(心脏停止跳动)。在某些情况下,脑死亡或心源性死亡后也可以进行捐献。

当一个人受到严重的脑损伤,如事故、中风或缺氧,并在医院接受呼吸支持(机器为其呼吸)时,就会发生脑死亡。医生会努力挽救病人的生命,但有时病人会完全丧失脑功能,且不可逆转。病人在临床和法律上被宣布死亡。只有在这种情况下,才可以选择捐献。

心脏死亡后捐赠(DCD) 适用于遭受致命伤害但未脑死亡的病人。病人家属可能会决定取消护理和呼吸支持,让病人自然死亡。病人会脱离呼吸机(机器为其呼吸)。当心脏停止跳动时,医生会宣布心脏死亡。

医院工作人员不会知道病人的捐献者身份,只有捐献专业人员才能检查病人是否符合捐献者资格。医院会联系器官获取组织(OPO),后者会检查捐献者登记册。如果患者已经登记,OPO 会通知家属。如果没有,则会要求家属授权捐献。只有这样,器官、角膜和组织才能得以恢复,从而挽救和治愈他人的生命。

对于所有器官、眼球和组织捐献,捐献者都会得到关怀和尊重,捐献者家庭在整个捐献过程中都会得到支持。捐献者的家庭或遗产无需支付任何费用。捐献可以给悲伤的家庭带来慰藉。

所有主要宗教都支持将捐赠作为最后的慈悲和慷慨之举。

寻找匹配

一个全国性的系统将捐赠者的可用器官与等候名单上的人进行匹配。

血型、体型、病情、捐献者距离、组织类型和列入名单的时间都是考虑的标准。

种族、收入、性别、名人和社会地位从未被考虑在内。

拯救生命

一旦找到匹配的患者,他们的移植团队就会与候补名单上的患者取得联系。

从捐献者身上取回的器官会得到精心照料和尊重,并送往医院进行移植。

移植手术让患者重获新生,重新成为家庭和社区的积极成员。

一旦确定可以选择捐献,就会在网上安全地搜索州捐献者登记处和国家捐献生命登记处,以检查患者本人是否已授权捐献。如果在登记册中找不到患者,则向其近亲或合法授权代表(通常是配偶、亲属或密友)提供授权捐献的机会。一旦决定捐献,家属将被要求提供病史和社会史。捐赠和移植专业人员决定哪些器官可以移植,以及将器官分配给国家移植等候名单上的哪些病人。

关于器官捐献过程的更多信息

尽管医疗技术不断进步,但对器官、眼睛和组织捐赠的需求仍然远远超过捐赠者的数量。美国捐赠生命组织正在努力增加登记器官捐献者的数量,并发展一种将器官捐献作为人类基本责任的文化。

振奋

希望的故事

Deceased Donation

Deceased donation is the process of giving organs, corneas or tissues at the time of the donor’s death for the purpose of transplantation. Deceased donation can only occur after death has been declared by medical professionals who are not part of the donation and transplant process.

How Does the Deceased Donation Process Work?

Waiting for a Transplant

When someone’s organ fails, they may be evaluated for a potential transplant and placed on the national waiting list.

The list is very long and not everyone survives while waiting for a donor.

Donors of all ages are needed.

In the United States, it is illegal to buy or sell organs and tissue for transplantation.

Becoming a Donor

When a person dies, it is either by brain death or cardiac death (when your heart stops). Donation can happen after brain death or cardiac death, under certain conditions.

Brain death occurs when a person has sustained a severe brain injury, such as from an accident, stroke or lack of oxygen and is on ventilated support (machine that breathes for them) in a hospital. Doctors work hard to save the patient’s life, but sometimes there is a complete and irreversible loss of brain function. The patient is declared clinically and legally dead. Only then is donation an option.

Donation after Cardiac Death (DCD) is possible when the patient has suffered a fatal injury and is not brain dead. The patient’s family may decide to remove care and ventilated support to allow the patient to die naturally. The patient is taken off the ventilator (machine breathing for them). When their heart stops beating, a physician declares cardiac death.

The hospital staff won’t know the patient’s donor status, and eligibility as a donor can only be checked by donation professionals. The hospital contacts the organ procurement organization (OPO), which checks the donor registry. If the person is registered, the OPO will inform the family. If not, the family will be asked to authorize donation. Only then does recovery take place of organs, corneas and tissues to save and heal the lives of others.

For all organ, eye and tissue donation, the donor is treated with care and respect, and the donor family is supported throughout the donation process. There is no cost to the donor’s family or estate for donation. Donation can provide solace to a grieving family.

All major religions support donation as a final act of compassion and generosity.

Finding a Match

A national system matches available organs from the donor with people on the waiting list.

Blood type, body size, how sick, donor distance, tissue type and time on list are among criteria considered.

Race, income, gender, celebrity and social status are never considered.

Saving Lives

Once matches are found, the wait-listed patients are contacted by their transplant teams.

Organs are recovered from the donor with care and respect, and sent to hospitals for transplantation.

Transplants restore lives and return patients as active members of their families and communities.

Once donation has been determined to be an option, state donor registries and the National Donate Life Registry are searched securely online to check if the patient has personally authorized donation. If the patient is not found in the Registry, their next of kin or legally authorized representative (usually a spouse, relative or close friend) is offered the opportunity to authorize the donation. Once the donation decision is established, the family is asked to provide a medical and social history. Donation and transplantation professionals determine which organs can be transplanted and to which patients on the national transplant waiting list the organs are to be allocated.

More About the Organ Donation Process

Although there have been advances in medical technology, the demand for organ, eye and tissue donation still vastly exceeds the number of donors. Donate Life America is working to increase the number of registered organ donors and develop a culture where organ donation is embraced as a fundamental human responsibility.

be inspired

Stories of Hope