希望的故事

希望的故事

秋天,小儿肝脏受体

2020 年 7 月,在秋季两个月的门诊中,医生发现她的皮肤发黄,并嘱咐她做一些进一步的检查。几个月后,医生确定秋天处于肝功能衰竭晚期,她被列入了国家移植等待名单。

阅读更多 "

Steven DePriest,捐赠者

史蒂夫喜欢打猎、钓鱼和研究历史,作为一名志愿消防员,他非常关心社区。当他登记成为器官、眼球和组织捐献者时,他为他人服务的奉献精神也体现得淋漓尽致。

阅读更多 "

肖恩,活体肾脏捐献受者

肖恩生性好动,喜欢长跑、游泳和徒步旅行,还曾作为全职音乐家在东海岸演出。2000 年,肖恩被诊断出患有溃疡性结肠炎(一种大肠疾病),随后又被诊断出患有原发性硬化性胆管炎(一种影响胆管的肝病)。

阅读更多 "

伦敦

伦敦在 2021 年 2 月出生时,他的父亲把他带到家里,与家人一起庆祝他的到来。两天后

阅读更多 "

胡利安,里尼翁受益人

胡利安是里翁的受益人,他在婴儿期的大部分时间都在进出医院,原因是他患有肉芽肿性脊髓灰质炎,这种严重的疾病限制了他的肺部和里翁的血液循环。

阅读更多 "

Leah, 熟悉器官移植受体

莉亚 12 岁时收到了一个毁灭性的消息:如果不进行双侧髋关节置换术,她的父亲只有两年的生命。幸运的是,一位器官捐赠者挽救了她的生命,并以这种方式让她获得了最宝贵的东西:与父亲在一起的时间。

阅读更多 "
NMDS 丽塔-马修斯(Lita Matthews)博士--活体肝脏受体--女性--本地人,普韦布洛人

丽塔,肝脏受体

移植后,丽塔能够继续用美妙的音乐、powwows、舞蹈和 "万国聚会 "来充实自己的生活。她鼓励每个人都考虑加入捐献者行列。

阅读更多 "

丽兹,组织接受者

虽然她的成长经历曾让她对器官捐献持怀疑态度,但她现在明白了许多误解背后的真相,并希望与西班牙裔社区的其他人分享这种认识。

阅读更多 "
组织接受者 - Makenzie(玫瑰花车游行)

Makenzie, 组织接受者

Makenzie 在高中一年级时因运动受伤导致前十字韧带撕裂,从此疼痛难忍,严重影响了她在赛场内外的生活。捐赠的组织使她能够坚持积极健康的生活方式,实现成为曲棍球队队长的梦想。

阅读更多 "

Ieesha,组织接受者

Ieesha 已经恢复了她积极的生活方式,重新开始烹饪美食和跑步。为了庆祝组织移植一周年,Ieesha 取得了她认为最大的成就--完成了全程马拉松!

阅读更多 "

杰里米,社区外联协调员

作为 LiveOnNY 的社区外联协调员,我致力于为华人捐赠家庭提供符合其文化背景的临床和家庭服务,并通过不同渠道(如展板活动、媒体和研讨会)开展社区教育。

阅读更多 "

蕾妮,心脏接受者

蕾妮是一名来自新墨西哥州圣伊尔德丰索部落普韦布洛的美国土著妇女。她是一位 40 岁的妻子和两个年幼女孩的母亲,从事全职工作,身体健康。

阅读更多 "

Stories of Hope

Stories of Hope

Elias, pediatric liver recipient

Elias was born with Alpha 1 Antitrypsin Deficiency, an inherited disorder that increases the risk of liver disease, and because of his condition, Elias was frequently hospitalized and often too tired to play with his peers.

Read More »

Autumn, pediatric liver recipient

In July 2020, at Autumn’s two-month appointment, her doctor noticed her skin was yellow and ordered some further tests to be done. Several months later, the doctors determined Autumn was in end-stage liver failure, and she was added to the national transplant waiting list.

Read More »

Steven DePriest, donor

Steve loved hunting, fishing, and studying history, and, as a volunteer firefighter, he cared deeply about his community. His dedication to serving others was also evident when he registered as an organ, eye and tissue donor.

Read More »

Sean, living kidney donor recipient

Sean was an active person who liked to spend time long-distance running, swimming, and hiking and also performed full-time as a musician along the East Coast. In 2000, Sean was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis, a disease of the large intestines, and as a result, was later diagnosed with Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis, a type of liver disease that affects the bile ducts.

Read More »

Diane, living kidney donor

Kidney donor Diane wanted to help her friend John when she learned he was in renal failure and needed a kidney. Nearly one foot shorter than John, it seemed unlikely that Diane could be his living donor.

Read More »
Jennifer

Jennifer, cornea recipient

Now over one year post-transplant, Jennifer’s vision has greatly improved, and she is fully able to enjoy all of the things she did prior to the illness: cooking, photography and being her daughters’ biggest fan.

Read More »
story-of-hope-jessica

Jessica, tissue recipient

Donor tissue made it possible for Jessica to come back stronger than before. She has a new appreciation for her mobility, and she has added regular weightlifting to her workout routine to help keep her legs in great shape.

Read More »

Julián, beneficiario de riñón

Julián, beneficiario de riñón, pasó gran parte de su infancia entrando y saliendo del hospital debido a que sufría de granulomatosis con poliangeítis, una rara enfermedad que limitaba el flujo sanguíneo a sus pulmones y riñones.

Read More »

Leah, familiar de receptor de trasplante de órgano

Leah tenía 12 años cuando recibió la noticia devastadora de que, sin un trasplante bipulmonar, su padre tendría solo dos años de vida. Afortunadamente, un donante de órganos salvó su vida y de esa manera le dio a la muchacha lo que más anhelaba: tiempo con su papá.

Read More »
NMDS Dr. Lita Matthews -- living liver recipient - female - Native, Pueblo

Lita, liver recipient

With the transplant, Lita has been able to continue to fill her life with good music, powwows, dancing and the Gathering of Nations. She encourages everyone to consider signing up to be a donor.

Read More »

Liz, tissue recipient

While her upbringing had led her to be skeptical about organ donation, she now understands the truth behind the many misconceptions and hopes to share that awareness with others in the Hispanic community.

Read More »
Tissue Recipient - Makenzie (Rose Parade)

Makenzie, tissue recipient

An ACL tear from a sports injury during her freshman year of high school left Makenzie in constant pain, and severely impacted her life both on and off the playing field. Donated tissue made it possible for her to stay dedicated to her active, healthy lifestyle and to achieve her dream of becoming captain of her field hockey team.

Read More »

Chris, kidney recipient

In 2011, Chris started dialysis and needed a kidney transplant. One of Chris’ old high school football teammates, Tom, heard about his condition and wanted to help.

Read More »

Ieesha, tissue recipient

Ieesha has resumed her active lifestyle, and is back to cooking great food and running. To celebrate the one-year anniversary of her tissue transplant, Ieesha achieved what she considers to be her biggest accomplishment yet — completing a full marathon!

Read More »

Jeremy, Community Outreach Coordinator

As Community Outreach Coordinator for LiveOnNY, I work to provide culturally appropriate Clinical & Family Services to Chinese donor families and community education through different channels such as tabling events, media, and workshops.

Read More »

Paster Jum, advocate

Living near a hospital in his native country of Burma, Pastor Jum remembers health professionals venturing into the streets to ask for blood donations for patients undergoing surgery and treatment inside the hospital.

Read More »

Renee, heart recipient

Renee is a Native American woman from the Pueblo of the San Ildefonso Tribe in New Mexico. She was a 40-year-old wife and mother of two young girls, working fulltime and physically active, when she suddenly became very ill.

Read More »

Lukas, deceased donor & Nikki, donor mom

Lukas had been only 8 years old when he announced to his family that he wanted to sign up to be an organ donor. And, he did. Not long after he turned 15 ½, Lukas applied for his temporary driver’s license and checked the box to join his state’s organ, eye and tissue donor registry.

Read More »